Umar Akmal Quizzes for T20Is Run Vs. West Indies 

September 11, 2016 11:26 am0 commentsViews: 10

Selection committee head Inzamam in consultation with Pakistan Cricket Board announces selection of Pakistan middle order batsmen Umar Akmal, who is picked for the T20I series against the West Indies on basis of his form in the ongoing National Cup.

Selection committee had been given clearance by the Pakistan Cricket Board to consider Akmal for the upcoming series after he sorted out his disciplinary matters with the board.

“Akmal is back in the squad because he is in good form and has shown this in the national event,” said selection committee head.

“I have spoken to him and he is keen to prove to everyone that he wants to become a permanent member of the national team in all formats of the game,” he added.

Afridi and Ahmad Shahzad bad form and fitness continues which halted their place in T20Is series against W. Indies

ahmed-shehzadSpeaking about all-rounder Shahid Afridi and opening batsman Ahmad Shahzad, the former captain said that the duo were not considered because of issues with form and fitness. However, he added that they are not blocked from upcoming selections.

“It is not that the door is closed on them,” said Inzamam. “When we are satisfied that they meet the standards of fitness and form, they will be considered for selection.”

Rumman Raees and Saad Nasim performed well in domestic circuit and grew selection for upcoming series along with Umar Akmal

Earlier, left-arm pacer Rumman Raees and right-hand middle-order batsman Saad Nasim were also selected in the 15-man squad for the series which will start from September 23.


Saad Naseem


Rumman Raees

The team was finalized by Inzamam after discussions with the Pakistan head coach Mickey Arthur and the T20I captain Sarfraz Ahmed. Pakistan will face World T20 champions West Indies in a three-match T20I series starts on Sep 23.

Pakistani T20Is  Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Muhammad Nawaz, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Saad Nasim, Rumaan Raees.

Pakistani T20Is  Squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton




Leave a Reply